Why is Greece only pleasing in September?

Nicolette-Irina
5 min readSep 24, 2024

--

Greece, through my eyes, September 2024. On film.

Greece is the first place that springs to mind when I think of romance. If we put aside the fact that half of the population seems to be my own people (Romanians stand).

Let’s get one thing straight: I’m not here to gush about the food (even though the olives are life-changing), or the people (yes, they are wonderful, we get it), or even the views (because, duh, it’s Greece). Nope, today we’re talking about something far more underrated: the weather. Yes, you heard me. Forget the baklava and blue waters for a second—let’s chat about those perfect, sunny-but-not-dying, breezy-but-not-windy September days that make you want to move there permanently.

Dad, if you’re reading this, I promise I’ll get you a house in Greece.

The first time I went to Greece was in July. And as someone who, like a vampire (Romanians stand, again), loves the winter and stays as far away from the sun as possible, I was afraid I would melt. Therefore, the first time I went to Greece, I genuinely thought it might be my last. The sun wasn’t just shining; it was blazing, merciless, and unforgiving (in case you couldn’t tell, I’m good with adjectives). Every time I stepped outside, I was certain I was seconds away from spontaneous combustion. Some Sun-Greek-God was mocking me; I bet, “Winter girl? Not in my domain.”

But the heat was unbearable, yet the beauty undeniable. And as much as I wanted to hide from the sun, I did get to wear my cute little outfits.

My cute little outfit.

European summer fashion fantasy.

But no, seriously.

It was the kind of setting where you kind of had a sense that you were the lead character in a summertime motion picture. Yet that was also when I realised: September is the way to go. After my near-death-by-sunburn experience in July, I came back in September, and oh boy, what a difference. Every corner of Greece was a feast for the senses. The Island was like that friend who shows up to the party looking all chill but ends up being the life of it. Imagine a place where pine forests are so fragrant they practically give you a hug. And the water? It looked like a treasure—infinitely blue in infinite weather patterns. It was clearer than my ex’s excuses for why he cheated on me.

Do you want me to talk about the island (the peninsula?) I bet. Halkidiki, the three-fingered wonder of Greece (shout-out to my boyfriend, and the three fingers mention).

Kassandra is the ultimate party zone. The bars were buzzing, YES, EVEN IN SEPTEMBER. It has beautiful beaches where you may spend the day soaking up the sun and acting like a beach model. But it has a vibrant nightlife because Kassandra has the highest density of tourism; the region we are in has a rich history and contains many interesting ancient sites. Unquestionably, the sunset views on Instagram are worth a million likes, and the beaches are amazing. Yet for me? It’s a bit too much “Let’s get wild!” and not enough “Let’s quietly sip wine while reading a book.” So, while you’re out there, I’ll be in my corner, sipping my cocktail and trying not to be awkward. But hey, I still appreciate Kassandra’s spirit, and the views are worth a star or two.

Now let’s head over to Sithonia. Here’s where you go to recharge your batteries and get back in touch with nature. The coastline is diverse: a series of tiny harbours, abandoned beaches of various widths surrounded by shrubs and trees, and fishermen’s hamlets. Is a symphony in blue and green. If Kassandra is the party animal, Sithonia is the friend who knows how to chill and soak in the good vibes. And if you had the patience until this point, know that in Sithonia, eating isn’t just a necessity; it’s a must. Try the tzatziki. The tavernas? Pure magic. Total bliss! (When does using too many adjectives become excessive?)

Ah, Mount Athos, my absolute favourite. My visit almost had me swapping my outfits for a nun’s habit. Seriously, I was that close to becoming the next Sister Nicole. The energy there was so strong, it practically pulled me in like a black hole of spirituality. Picture this: me walking along the trails, surrounded by ancient flowers, and suddenly, I feel like I’m in a mystical movie. The sun is shining, birds are chirping, and I half expect a choir of angels to pop out of the bushes singing, “Hallelujah!” I mean, who wouldn’t want to hang out in such a paradise? But, now, what really sets Mount Athos apart for me is the opportunity for reflection. The monasteries are impressive. There is a way that nature speaks, that land speaks. Remember what I said about quietly sipping wine while reading a book? This is the perfect place. But then, the big question hits me: Am I even allowed to sip wine while contemplating a monastic life?

Now that I’ve finished my wine-soaked reflections about Mount Athos and my little sojourn as a nun, let’s get back to what really makes this show: September’s weather. This time, I was able to see the villages, lounge on beaches, and, yes, even sneak in a bit of future contemplation. And why was I able to go out and explore this stunning place? Drumroll, please… Because the weather was absolutely perfect. Seriously, it’s like Mother Nature herself decided to throw a little party just for me.

So, if you need proof that September is the best time to visit, talk to me during the summer.

My thank you for you. You made it so far. You read my article.

--

--